Home > Research & Extension > Profiles > Dr. Peter Sikkema

Dr. Peter Sikkema

Professor, Field Crop Weed Management

Degrees:

Ph.D. Environmental Sciences - University of Western Ontario
M.Sc. Weed Science - University of Guelph
B.Sc.(Agr.) Crop Science - University of Guelph

Research Interests:

My research program focuses on the development of precision weed management programs in corn, soybean, edible bean and cereals to improve the level of weed control, reduce crop injury, increase crop yield and maximize net returns to Ontario producers. Recent or current projects include:

  • Crop tolerance and weed management in corn, soybean, edible beans and cereals
  • Benefits of two-pass weed management strategies in Roundup Ready corn and soybean
  • Control of problem weeds in corn, soybean and wheat
  • Surveys on the distribution of glyphosate resistant weeds in Ontario
  • Development of strategies for the control of glyphosate resistant weeds in Ontario

Research Associates:

Dr. Nader Soltani
Phone: 519-675-1221
soltanin@uoguelph.ca

Research Technicians:

Lynette Brown
lbrown@uoguelph.ca
Todd Cowan
Phone: 519-235-4075
tcowan@uoguelph.ca
Chris Kramer
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63645
ckramer@uoguelph.ca
Christy Shropshire
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63645
cshropsh@uoguelph.ca

Graduate Students:

Amanda Green
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-6824-4120 x58372
agreen02@uoguelph.ca
Taylor Jeffery
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-6824-4120 x58372
tjeffe01@uoguelph.ca
Laura Ford
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63212
lford@uoguelph.ca
Mackenzie Lesperance
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-6824-4120 x58372
mlespera@uoguelph.ca
Holly Byker
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63212
hbyker@uoguelph.ca
Annemarie Van Wely
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63212
avanwely@uoguelph.ca
Zhenyi Li
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-6824-4120 x58372
zhenyi@uoguelph.ca
Scott Ditschun
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-6824-4120 x58372
ditschus@uoguelph.ca
Chris Budd
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63212
buddc@uoguelph.ca
Matt Underwood
M.Sc. Student
Department of Plant Agriculture
Phone: 519-674-1500 x63212
underwom@uoguelph.ca

Teaching:

I teach in the Agriculture Diploma program at Ridgetown Campus. Courses include:

Recent Publications and Reports:

Corn, Soybean, Wheat, Dry Bean, Problem Weeds 2014 2014 Weed Control Research Report - Field Crops

2012 Weed Management in Corn: Questions from Ontario Growers - Extension presentation

2012 Weed Management in RR Corn: Questions from Ontario Growers - Extension Presentation

2012 Weed Management in Soybean: Questions from Ontario Growers - Extension Presentation

2012 Crop Tolerance and Weed Management in Dry Bean - Extension Presentation

View the complete list of reports by Dr. Peter Sikkema on the reports page.

For potential graduate students:

I am looking for graduate students who are interested in advancing the discipline of weed science in Ontario field crops. For more information, please email me.

Page reviewed 12/01/2016